Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Might get a chance to move to Canada for job. How to make it work? (C5 complete quad)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Might get a chance to move to Canada for job. How to make it work? (C5 complete quad)

Hi everyone,
    I know there's a travel ban in almost every country so to clarify, this is about the future, when things will settle down.

I work as a software developer in India, and was recently approached by a large tech company for an engineering role in Vancouver. They want to finalize candidates now, in order to start Visa process once the borders open up.

It has always been my dream to move to US/CAN, even before the injury, but I gave up on it like most of my dreams. This has given me some hope again so I said yes for the interview, which will be scheduled next week. (Their interviews are difficult so I might not get selected, but that's ok, I want to try)

However, in the event that I'm selected, I want to understand how can I make it work? or is it even possible to make it work? am I being naive in thinking that I can travel across the world and live there?

​​​​​​The only major thing I'm worried about is caregiver. I have a Live-in caregiver here, who has been with me for 4 years now. I doubt he will be allowed a visa because A) he doesn't speak English B) he cannot "work" there technically.

In terms of my abilities, I am pretty much a quad as they come. physically dependent on one person for bathing, bowel, bladder, clothes, lift and shift to my ZRA. once I'm in the chair I can manage to eat, drink, wear tshirt,work on my laptop, maybe go for a roll if there are no curbs, all by my own. So pretty much can't do anything apart from working and other non essential activities.

This is why I will be needing a caregiver. So my questions to you all, and especially people from Canada are: