Adaptive skiing...where should I go?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Adaptive skiing...where should I go?

Where are some of the better places to learn how to mono ski? This would be my first time adaptive skiing since my injury.

Where do you live?

Comment

South Carolina. I'm willing to travel anywhere in the US.

Comment

Skiing is very difficult to learn and you'll spend most of your first 10 lessons falling over. I'd hate for you to spend thousands of $$ to fly and stay somewhere only to spend your whole time on your side.

If I were you I'd find a place close to you and then go somewhere cool once you take your taining wheels off.

I'm speaking from experience. I went out to Park City, UT way too early and wished I would have waited until I was better.

Comment

I am just beginning adaptive snow sports too and agree with Brian. I have done it locally first at a small ski area and am going to VT in March after I have cut my teeth a few times on a small mountain.

Beech Mountain Resort In North Carolina seems like it would suit you well. They have an adaptive program and it would probably be a nice place to start.

Good luck! Keep us posted.

Comment

What's your injury level? Bi-skis are a lot easier to learn than a mono.

Comment

Does Beech Mountain offer adaptive lessons everyday, or only during their annual adaptive ski clinic? Not much information on their webpage.

I don't have a SCI in the traditional sense, but a progressive form of dystrophy. Wear an AFO to walk and zoom around in my ZRA for longer distances. I have both sensory and motor dysfunction.

Comment

Try Cataloochee in NC as well. They have daily lessons but you have to make reservations. I didn't realize Beech was only special events. Sorry.

I did a private lesson and it was great. I went to Roundtop in PA. You would never travel to ski there because anything in NC or closer to you would be as good or better.

Comment