Neuropathic pain....what is it?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Neuropathic pain....what is it?

Our son has been complaining about having a lot of pain in the back of his legs, hamstring area, and lower back while he is sitting in his chair as well as laying on his back in bed. I'm a massage therapist so he gets at least 1, one hour massage every day as well as stretching and range of motion exercises. He describes his pain as a burning, pounding kind of pain. Is this neuropathic pain? Exactly what is neuropathic pain? He does have al ot of sensation type of feeling all over his body, and he also has reflexes. But unfortunatly he does not have any motor below his neck. Anyone out there that can explain what is going on? Thanks

hi ddj--

unfortunately, there are lots of people here who suffer from neuropathic pain, and I'm sure some of them will chime in.

Here's what I know from watching my husband deal with it for the last 5 years:

It's usually triggered by light touch, like soft stroking.
    It's hard to medicate, but not impossible. Bruce takes gabapentin (same thing as neurontin) and has also experimented with lyrica.
    It's a good idea to stay ahead of it . . . if he forgets to take the meds, it can suddenly grab him, and then it takes awhile to get it to quiet down again.
    It can change in intensity over time. The first couple of years, he was constantly having to be vigilant w/ the meds, and there were still times when it got the better of him. Over the last year or so he's been gradually cutting back as much as he possibly can and is down to about a third of the original dose.

(I'm typing this and thinking, omg, I'm speaking in years here. Years of living with this already gone by . . . it's weird. I remember when I first came here, how impossible it seemed that we would ever learn to deal with everything.)