Marijuana-wanting to try but I'm a complete novice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Marijuana-wanting to try but I'm a complete novice

I have read through some of the posts on marijuana and have come out more confused sometimes. I would like to start experimenting with marijuana. I am a C-5 quadriplegic of 25 years hoping that it will help with pain and spasticity. I would like to approach it as scientifically as possible. That is to say, treat it like any other drug, starting with the minimum dose possible, keeping track of the side effects closely and working my way up to see how much, what strain, and what ways of taking it help me versus the side effects.
    My doctors are not giving me much guidance here. The doctor currently will not write for medical marijuana because I do take narcotic painkillers and they say my state will not let them write for both. But I cannot stop taking the narcotics until I know how the marijuana affects pain. They said go to the marijuana dispensary tell them what you need it for and they will provide guidance about use or buy it illegally and see what helps. Except right now you can't go in and ask questions and getting it illegally from a friend doesn't seem like a great way to go either.

*Spasticity
    1. The majority is in my legs and my torso below my rib cage.

They can be quite strong and I currently take baclofen and a low dose of Klonopin.

*Pain comes in 3 forms
    1. Neuropathy/neurogenic pain/whatever you want to call the burning/pins and needles/crushing/stabbing pain in my extremities, abdomen, and back
    2. Muscle/joint pain in my back, shoulders etc.
    3. The spasticity itself, is painful