19 Year Old Nephew C6 C7 Complete

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

19 Year Old Nephew C6 C7 Complete

Hello. This is my first time in a chat room.

My 19 year old nephew severed (90% we are told) his spinal cord on 11/24/06 in a motocross accident between C6 and C7. He has no feeling or movement below his nipples, can breathe on his own (with effort), and can move his arms and thumbs (not fingers). He has two pins surgically placed in his vertabrae for stability.

I am trying to help my sister and her husband plan the next step. Now that he is stable enough to move, they want to find the best option for him. I see that the ProCord trial is not accepting new patients. Does anyone know if this drug is available? Also, I see that Cethrin has been granted Orphan Drug Status. What does that mean? Is it available?

I'm pursuing three avenues: Drugs, location for treatment and doctors. If anyone has any suggestions, or answers to my questions, I would be so grateful. They live in Florida, but will travel where ever they need to.

Thank you.

Welcome to Carecure Auntlore...you came to the right place for your answers. The nurse will answer your technical questions.....I just wanted to say hello and welcome. Good luck to your nephew and even though they have diagnosed him as complete....encourage him to work his hardest as we never really really know for sure in regards to function.
    T12-L2; Burst fracture L1: Incomplete walking with AFO's and cane since 1989

My goal in life is to be as good of a person my dog already thinks I am. ~Author Unknown

Comment

You're doing well to find us so soon.

I don't know of any other trials like Procord right now. Hopefully somebody will. I think that one might well have been a good choice.

Did he suffer any other injuries?