Night sweat ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Night sweat ?

My sweetheart has being sweating a lot at night lately- not every night, but when he does he REALLY soaks the bed. Why does this happen? There is no pattern in terms of when it happens... it just does

Autonomic dysreflexia. It occurs when something is "wrong" with the body. It is more common in levels of the cervical cord. Check to see that his feet are okay, sometimes something as simple as the sheet being too tight can cause one to sweat. If he is utilizing a drainage bag in the evening check to see that it is flowing properly, there may be some backup of some urine.

Autonomic dysreflexia can be life-threatening. Sweating is just one of the symptoms. The nurses will tell you to take his blood pressure at the time of sweating because that will indicate more of an episode. I'm not a doctor nor am I a nurse I am just giving you my own experience as a tetraplegic.
    Get involved in politics as if your life depended on it, because it does. -- Justin Dart

I shall not tolerate ignorance or hate speech on this site.

Comment

Agree w/ Liz, it's a symptom, mine started with lupusyrs ago, not that often now unless I have a g#@# d#*&, F#@&%ng UTI.

Comment

I once had cold sweats like this and we finally figured out it was a bladder stone... after it was removed the sweats disappeared. I hope you find the cause because I know how frustrating the cold sweats can be... best wishes
        I'm not short im funsized!

Comment

Need to check his blood pressure when this occurs to determine if it is AD or not. Some people with SCI just have inappropriate sweating, so not all sweating is AD. Sweating that is positional can sometimes be a symptom of a syrinx as well.

(KLD)