Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting a job/career?

Do quadriplegics get jobs?

I had the great misfortune to get injured c6-7 after working for 1 year out of college. I did mortgage loans for new construction residential housing. This gave me long-term diasability and ssi. The first 3 years after my injury, I was in no shape to try going back to work. No vehicle, crapping my pants all the time, weak.. etc etc.

It's 10 years later and I've survived to this point, but what I'm currently doing isn't working. I'm up to my ying ying in debt. I've brainstormed on different avenues to take and continue to hit constant roadblocks.

I make just enough to not qualify for help...which I don't want.. and don't make enough to continue paying caregivers, rent and medical premiums that rise 20% a year..in addition to rising medical costs.

I graduated with a finance degree and honors course curriculum which seems worthless. I've busted my butt getting up in the 4-5 am hours and going to bed 9-10 pm spending a fair amount of time trying to make my business work.

My business has failed. I'm facing bankruptcy which would look wonderful applying for finance related jobs. I don't drive. I deal with constant muscle tone in my lower back and upper body. I've got basically no friends or business contacts. I've burned my parents out. I'd like a career with which I could support myself and feel like I have some self worth again.

I joined a creative writing class... which I missed b/c my van was an hour late. They can get me to the grocery store right on time though. I've picked up some xhtml books b/c that sounds interesting.. but.. man.. I'm about at the end of my rope trying to figure things out and picking myself up for the umpteenth failure. I've got no other choice.

I'm not sure what else to say.
    Last edited by ouch; 01-27-2006, 02:58 PM.
    www.myquadriplegia.com