No announcement yet.

Member Intros

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Member Intros

    I noticed we have a bunch of new members- I thought a good way to draw them out from the shadows whence they lurk, would be for us old members to introduce and tell a little about ourselves. Welcome newbies...

    I'm Jim. I was injured in '95 from a 3 story head-first fall that somehow left me incomplete, c5/6. I live in NJ and am a Teen Center Coordinator for a non-profit organization. Some of my hobbies are writing, reading, working out and fishing. I've learned sooooo much from everyone here and am grateful I have a place to come for guidance and support.

    ... [img]/forum/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]...

  • #2
    Great Idea!

    I'm Emily, a 20 year old quad ( C 7/8 ) from Alberta Canada. I was njured in a car accident on Aug. 2 2001. My hobbies are reading, playing quad rugby, chatting online, dancing, and spending time with my friends and boyfriend. I'm a university student, with an arts major in sociology.

    I'm interested in hering about you!

    "Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow"
    ~ Anon
    Emily, C-8 sensory incomplete mom to a 8 year old and a preschooler. TEN! years post.


    • #3
      I agree, great idea JLB.

      Welcome newbies!!!

      A little about me:

      I was hit by a drunk driver at age 8 which resulted in a C8 (originally C6/7) complete (?) injury.

      I'm 32 years old, married and have no children (yet [img]/forum/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]). I have a BA and an MA in Classical Civ. My interests are reading, research, health and medicine, ancient history and basically hanging out with my husband and doing whatever.

      I absolutely love this site. Dr. Young is the best! CareCure is the only site on the internet where a SCI can come to get expert advice and information and commune with others similarly affected.

      [This message was edited by seneca on Oct 21, 2002 at 07:53 PM.]


      • #4
        Hi, i'm Shawn. I'm aT10/L1 incomplete paraplegic as a result of a MVA six years ago. I'll be 28 next month and i'm all the way from South Africa. I enjoy playing wheelchair basketball, visiting CareCure, my job and i just love cruising in my car with the bass pumping! I look forward to getting to know all you new members here - welcome! [img]/forum/images/smilies/wink.gif[/img]


        • #5

          i'm new here , only joined in June 2002 . i'm 42 got injured in a MVA in March 1991. i am an incomplete C5/6 who can walk [not pretty to watch ] , married a nurse i met in hospital in 94 , divorced in 98 . got 3 kids born in 96 . i live on a sheep station [farm] in western Queensland , Australia . think this is a great site and look forward to a cure .

          thank you

          [This message was edited by dogger on Oct 18, 2002 at 06:57 PM.]
          Every day I wake up is a good one .


          • #6
            Good thread!

            My name is Lindsay. I'm 24 and was hit by a drunk driver in a MVA in 1984. I'm almost 18 years post, T 5-6 para. I have a BA in psychology and work for an outpatient mental health facility in Chattanooga, TN. Injoy singing, cooking, reading, music, and a lot of other things.


            • #7
              Originally posted by dogger:

              i live on a sheep station in western Queensland , Australia
              What is a Sheep Station. I grew up on a "sheep farm" myself in the USA [img]/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.gif[/img]


              • #8
                My name is Tiffiny. I'm 23 and am a C6 quad. I was hurt in a diving accident in 1993 so that makes me 9 yrs. post. I have a BA in mass communications and a minor in spanish. I live in Minneapolis, MN and am a freelance political journalist. I enjoy renaissance fairs, traveling, cooking, shopping, concerts, and reading. PLUS, I run a website for women with SCI called Beauty Ability. Its at
                May the fetus you save be gay


                • #9

                  Hello all!

                  I was injured April 13, 2001 - both Good Friday and Friday the 13th. I still haven't figured out the significance of that?? I was riding with a drunk driver when I was injured. I'm a 25 year old C5/6 complete. Since my accident I have gone back to school for my Masters' degree in Information Systems. After I complete that I plan on trying to get a Ph.D. added to the back of my name while I wait for modern medicine to get us out of these chairs. The hardest thing for me is dealing with the loss of my girlfriend of 4 and 1/2 years. She was also a passenger in the car. We planned on spending the rest of our lives together and my biggest struggle is being without her. It's great to meet all of you!


                  • #10
                    I'm ~Fab~ from Italy. I am not injuried but a close friend to me she is.
                    She was T 11/12 and now after bad syringomyelia (with drainage operation she had on August) she's C4/5 with so bad spasms in her torso and arms.
                    I reached this forum to better learn about SCI and its consequences.


                    [This message was edited by satin010 on Oct 23, 2002 at 06:50 PM.]


                    • #11
                      Hello, I'm Patrick. 29. One year post Oct 8. Fell 15' while hunting, landing on a log.T-10 - T 12 incomplete. Going back to school starting January for Architectural Technology. Married. Two boys 7&9. Enjoy anything outdoors. Lewistown, Pennsylvania

                      ...act like a survivor not a victim.

                      [This message was edited by wheelinarcher on Oct 18, 2002 at 10:08 PM.]
                      T-10 complete
                      "Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, martini in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming 'WOO HOO' what a ride!"


                      • #12
                        station ?

                        lizbv , a station is what you would call a ranch in the US . I own 20,000 acres so it is a bit bigger than most peoples idea of a farm , though not large by Aussie standards .

                        thank you
                        Every day I wake up is a good one .


                        • #13
                          hi, im kimmy, 22/female. i live on long island, NY. 5 years ago i fell off my aunts horse and ended up a c5/6 quad. i work as an outreach worker for the Girl Scouts. kids are great! i love going to concerts, the beach, hanging with friends and my boyfriend. thats all for now [img]/forum/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]


                          • #14
                            I thought we had done this once before! LOL

                            But I guess it's just my brain damage again! [img]/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.gif[/img]

                            I am Tom a 51 year old T4 incomplete with mild to moderate brain damage. I was injured in a head-on collision on April 1, 1995. I guess I should have known better!! [img]/forum/images/smilies/rolleyes.gif[/img] [img]/forum/images/smilies/eek.gif[/img] The driver of the vehicle I was riding in was not drunk, he just did something stupid like try to pass a semi in a no passing zone. I live in Phoenix, AZ and was once a Sales Tax Specialist. It has proved impossible to find work because of memory and motivation problems due to my traumatic brain injury. I love fishing, swimming, playing pool, am a science fiction enthusiast and love this site!! I have been working with computers since 1981 and on the internet since 1992 (Pre-Windows [img]/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.gif[/img] ).

                            "And so it begins."
                            "And so it begins."


                            • #15
                              i'm scott, 22 yrs old, live in charlottesville, virginia... c6/7 as of 1/11/99 from a downhill skiing accident. i'm finishing up college in december @ james madison university w/ a degree in technical communication. i love doing stuff outdoors, coffeeshops, hanging w/ friends, music... basically chill stuff, despite the restlessness inside me. um, let's see... i'm very sarcastic... yes, i'm single, but at peace about it & finding satisfaction in the Lord... i love travelling & my hobby is photography. regardless, i'd give anything to have my freedom from sci back.