Kill me now

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kill me now

my smartnav headmouse died. the company went out of biz. the other couple of headmouses are around a thousand dollars. i've been in bed for 7 years and the only thing that keeps me sane is my computer. aside from my echo, it controls everything. i can type with a mouthstick but it took me forever to get to this site and i accidentally closed a couple tabs getting here. grr... wat i wouldn't give for a boring ordinary life. rant over... i just hope that i can post this without closing my browser.

Completely sucks when stuff like that goes out of business. I know you're blowing off steam, so I'm sorry for responding with a solution. I'm a tech guy, so sometimes I can't stop myself.

Is gaze tracking stuff practical? Does it work? I notice that this software is open source, so you're only on the hook for the cost of the hardware. (Not trivial, but less than $1000). https://precisiongazemouse.org/manual/

That solution also requires you to come up with a way to click, which they don't provide, but they point to a few options including dwell-based (i.e., just stare at something long enough and it clicks). Wobble switches are $150 and sip-n-puffs are like $400! None of this stuff is cheap.

Please forgive me if I'm making stupid suggestions about stuff you've already tried and dismissed.

Comment

• Scott C4/5
      Scott C4/5 commented
      Editing a comment
      This is the second headmouse that I have owned in 15ish or so years. I use an old recline switch and a homemade sip-and-puff for clicking. Depending on how tired my arm is. I was able to "fix" it, though. I had to adjust the tracking filter in the software but I think the light sensors are going out. I hope that I win the lottery before it completely dies.

I don't know how well the webcam and gaze software works but I might try it soon to use as a backup.