Good handcycle for a quad?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Good handcycle for a quad?

I don't have SCI but I am similar to a low level quad. I desperately need to get physical activity back into my life. I have a Theracycle at home, but I think part of my problem making exercise a habit is I get bored with just a stationary bike. We live on a really rough dirt road and the old arm push tricycle I had when I lived near a level bike path is just to hard for me to get up even a small incline. I miss biking terribly. Are there handcycles with gears that would allow someone with less than normal upper body strength to get up the hills on the average bike path? I will probably need to find a used one as I am a working artist and don't make tons of money.
    chair user since 2009 from a neurological disorder

absolutely. we [bike-on.com] make the quad elite line for us (quads). I race and test everything before we release it. im a c4-5 quad functioning at c6. send me a note john@bike-on.com or a call
    ~~1-888-424-5366 x103

Bike-on.com rep
    John@bike-on.com
    c4/5 inc funtioning c6. 28 yrs post.
    sponsored handcycle racer

Comment

Excellent! Love your website, so many exciting things there! I live on a bumpy dirt road with hills, but I would also want to take it to some towns near here with paved bike paths. Are there handcycles that can do both? I miss living near nice bike paths.

Comment

sure are. i'll walk you through.
        Bike-on.com rep
        John@bike-on.com
        c4/5 inc funtioning c6. 28 yrs post.
        sponsored handcycle racer

Comment

Fuentes is the man when it comes to handcycles. I use a Roadrace Powerpod to help with the hills and faster rides with my a/b friends. I like it as it is portable. When I want to ride without power, it takes about 30 seconds to disconnect and I'm in my lightweight handcycle. If I want to go for a long ride with a/b friends doing 15mph plus, I just attach the powerpod.