driving advice/turn signal advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• driving advice/turn signal advice

I have come to the realization that I need to suck it up, get over my phobia and get my freaking drivers liscence already (living 30 km from town will do that...). I have a road test booked for June 26 (coincidently the day I got my liscence when I was 16! 9 years ago...). So I started practicing yesterday and everything went very well (except for my pants falling down while transferring and my pounding heart when going over 10 km/hr lol). My main problem is not being able to flick the turn signal on without letting go of the hand control... I'm not sure why the OT who prescribed my van modifications didn't do some kind of mod for that but anyhow. What do you all do?
    i drive a E250 with 6 way power seat, MPD controls and a tripin spinner knob.
    Emily, C-8 sensory incomplete mom to a 8 year old and a preschooler. TEN! years post.

I had a similar problem in a borrowed Ford E350 van. My solution was to create a turn signal extension that went from left of the steering wheel (where the turn signal lever comes out of the column) above and to the right of the steering wheel. I created the extension by putting some compound angle bends in a piece of welding rod. Two hose clamps held the flattened end of the extension to the turn signal lever. I could flick the extension up or down without releasing the wheel.
    Foolish

"We have met the enemy and he is us."-POGO.

"I have great faith in fools; self-confidence my friends call it."~Edgar Allan Poe

"Dream big, you might never wake up!"- Snoop Dogg

Comment

let go of the hand control at a moment where you can coast for a second or two. you'll be okay.

Comment