Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Advantage Bags? Wheelchair backpack advice?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advantage Bags? Wheelchair backpack advice?

Does anyone have experience with these backpacks? https://www.advantagebag.com/collect...chair-bac-pacs If so, what do you think?

Right now, I use a regular backpack but I'm thinking of switching over to something specifically designed for a wheelchair. The big problem for me is getting the straps over the back of my chair since I ride in a very low profile chair. If any of you wonderful folks have any ideas on modding existing bags I'm all ears.

Last thing, I need to look professional-ish when I'm rolling around (I'm an attorney) and I usually have to carry some files and my laptop around with me. The reason I like that advantage bag is because it looks like a briefcase.

Yer pal,
    SD

p.s.,
    Shout out to all my former APP buddies.

"Freedom is what you do with what's been done to you. . ."
    --J.P. Sartre

That site you referenced has some interesting options under the "Down Under Bags" wheelchair bags. I have used the Delux Down Under Bag for years and tried the Down Under Shelf. I used the Sportaid back packs for decades until recent past - hurt my elderly shoulder when trying to pull up the vertical zipper on the side of the pack - I really liked that backpack because I could easily add or retrieve stuff by leaving the zipper open a bit. You may want to check Sportaid web site, too. I now use a purse that sort of rests on my footrest with strap slung over one knee. I'm female, but they have "man purses" that may be more professional looking.
    I liked the concept of that under-seat shelf system, however it was really difficult for me to access things - seems it would have worked if I wanted the grab the items when I was outside of my chair.