5" to 4" casters

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

5" to 4" casters

My ZRA2 currently has standard forks with 5x1" casters. The casters are mounted in the bottom hole (not sure why, you can see the marks where my DME once had them mounted in the middle).

I'm thinking about trying some 4x1.4" FL soft-rolls, based in large part on the recommendations I've read on this forum. I'm still a wheelchair newbie (coming up on 1-year in July), so I just want to make sure I understand the ramifications of this change.

Changing from 5" to 4" casters will drop my FSH by 0.5" -- is there anything else I need to change? I know I'll need to raise my footrest so it doesn't catch, but will I also need to drop my RSH to maintain my seating position?

What is the motivation for doing this? I have 5.x1.4 inch casters on my ZRA which replaced the 5.x1s it came with, works great. You will have to adjust your COG and dump to compensate. I like having 5 inch casters, especially for urban travel.

Comment

I wanted to try something that'd be a little easier to maneuver (or so I've read). I'm also pretty obsessed with streamlining my chair - the idea of a slightly smaller wheel appeals to me. I didn't realize, however, that .5" drop would impact so many other settings. I've also been wanting to replace my standard forks with unitines. Since my 5" casters are mounted on the bottom run of the fork, the unitine would drop me .5" (or 1" with the 4" casters). So it looks like I've got a lot of tweaks to make... yippee...

I had my chair spec'd out when I was only 2-weeks post injury (still in a TLSO and 6 broken ribs), so I just went with what the OT suggested. I feel like I've been playing catch up ever since. It's been a real PITA!

Comment

I prefer 4 inches as well (did I just say that?) for the look and performance, at least I do.

You can probably adjust your seat back up to offset the small amount in height difference.
        Rollin' since '89. Complete C8

Comment