Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HELP! Young Caregiver needing advice on dealing with difficult employer

Hi all!

I have a few questions for you. I'm a college student with a year experience as a caregiver. I recently got hired as a caregiver and am about to be a live in caregiver in a week or so. My employer (primary guardian of person I care for) pays me $8.50/hr and wants $350 in rent. I'm okay with this because it is a 3 bedroom house and I'm the only person who would be living there and the guardian likes to take the person I care for home at nights.

My concern is this...there has been no formal contract as of yet. I have been told by previous employees and by a former live-in that the employer tries to ripoff employee's pay and also has been known not to give enough hours to be able to sufficiently pay rent and live. The employer also has been known to not show up on time when shifts are over or answer the phone when late. Has been known to be up to 4 hours past time. The employer is also very absentminded and forgets to bring care items. The employer has also mentioned having me do overnights but doesn't want to pay me for it as minimal care is needed at night.

Also, apparently the house has a poisonous spider problem that the employer has been notified of, but has failed to fix.

What can I do to protect myself in this situation? What should I include in the contract? How much is appropriate for overnight pay? How should I handle house problems such as the spider issue?

Thanks!

Hi nmdupre welcome to CC -

I don't know what others are going to say but this is my feeling - unless you have no other options I wouldn't touch this with a 10 foot pole unless you get everything in writing. Not that that guarantees anything but at least you're covered legally if something happens.