4 UTI's in 1 year

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

4 UTI's in 1 year

I've been using an indwelling foley for approximately 12 years and had been fortunate to not have a UTI until 2017. I've gotten 4 UTIs in the last year and so many others in the past four years can't keep track of how many. Going back to the first two I had in the past year I needed to take ciprofloxacin. As some of you know that has to be some of the worst stuff to be on. Other than what I find very troublesome is a rarely have symptoms. This is what happened a year ago I woke up in the morning and I was shaking like I was in the ice bath. I guess you could call it septic shock since I had to be hospitalized.

I think where my confusion is, who is more important, my urologist or an ID doctor. I'm only saying that from some of the threads I have read here. One other thing is should I always have another culture done 7 to 14 days after antibiotics are finished. It seems like my GP or my urologist has never done that FYI will never take another culture to my GP. You see in the attachments my last two cultures. I have to claim stupidity for July's infection since my urine smelled bad and I did not listen to my caregiver. As you can see by the October culture this is my point I had no symptoms at all. I had to use my own discretion to get a culture as the nurse was coming to change the foley. Click image for larger version

Name:	culture.jpg
Views:	176
Size:	336.2 KB
ID:	2914356

Wish I didn't know now what I didn't know then.
    Bob Seger