Time for a colostomy or ileostomy...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Time for a colostomy or ileostomy...

Since November of 2016 I have been hospitalized for 6-8 ileus' and managed a couple others at home. I'm tired of getting these damn things and while either procedure may not prevent future ileus' from occurring they will make them easier and cleaner to manage. I have only spoke to my NP about this so she arranged an appointment with my GI doctor in two weeks. He no longer does surgery but a younger doctor in his group does (the doctor my NP wanted me to see).

The main reason that I have waited for so long to do this was out of vanity. But I have been doing bed rest for 6 1/2 years and need to make a change. My bed rest began because I started leaking profusely around my SP catheter. It took a few years to figure out a solution but in those years my butt became as delicate as tissue paper. Anyhow, perhaps not having to lay on a blue chuck pad will allow my butt to heal and make it possible for me to get up again.

I'm not asking any particular questions but if you have any advice regarding getting a colostomy or ileostomy, let me know. Thanks

I have had my colostomy for over 6 years (I wish I had it done when I got injured 30 years ago). Best decision I've ever made! No more 2-4hr bowel routines. A quick 5 minute bag empty or change and I am good to go. You won't regret it!

Comment