Spasms?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Spasms?

I’m quite new to a spinal cord injury but the spasms I have are intense. Is there anything that would calm them down. Any advice is appreciated.

Stretching is one thing you can try to do daily to help. On the forum you can search for post containing keywords to see previous discussions of a topic that interest you. When I searched "spasms" many post are found. To many about bladder spasms. So I changed the search to be "spasms -bladder". The "-bladder" excludes post with the word bladder. Hope this helps Good Luck.
    "Never turn your back on fear. It should always be in front of you, like a thing that might have to be killed." - Hunter Thompson
    T5/6 complete

Comment

Lots of people have both painful muscle tone (spasticity) as well as shaking type spasms. Some folks report using a standing frame and/or stretching helps but that always made mine way worse. I address it chemically, with medicine. What kinds of doctors are treating you? The right kinds know how to help you deal with this. My preference is to see a D.O., like a Physiatrist, specifically.
      "I have great faith in fools; self-confidence my friends call it." - Edgar Allen Poe

"If you only know your side of an issue, you know nothing." -John Stuart Mill, On Liberty

Comment

Spasticity (abnormally high muscle tone) and spasms (involuntary movements) are two aspects of SCI/D that are seen in most people except those with very low cord injuries or with some spinal cord diseases such as spinal stroke, transverse myelitis, or polio.

Most people do not have serious spasticity or spasm problems when they are first injured, even during their inpatient rehab stay, but as spinal shock subsides, spasticity and spasms can start to be a problem. Many people though don't get serious spasticity for up to 2 years post injury.